top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaren Taylor

Kundalini Yoga - Timings and Repetitions

Updated: Jun 18, 2022

In Kundalini Yoga exercises are given in a specific order because they each have a specific impact on your body and how the energy moves. So to reap the benefits of these exercises you respect this and allow your body to go through the changes. It’s useful to keep in mind that a lot is happening on a subtle level, which cannot be grasped by our rational minds, but which can be felt through sincere practice.


Of course you will meet resistance along the way, that’s totally normal! Instead of reacting to the resistance, choose consciously and investigate and listen to what this resistance tells you. Sometimes it is a conditioned reaction, but sometimes the resistance is a deeper communication that tells you to stop or change. That's is okay too! It is not always easy to recognise what is what, but this is how a daily spiritual practice (Sadhana), a discipline, can support your investigation and how you can get to know your unconscious patterns. You get to experience you are way much more then you think or belief you are.

Let’s look at the timings and numbers. They are not just random. Hopefully this explanation will inspire and motivate you to go for it.

Practice Timing

3 minutes: Affects your circulation, blood chemistry and stability of the blood. The increased blood circulations begins, distributing enhanced neuroendocrine secretions throughout the body.

7 minutes: Brain patterns start to shift from the static of beta waves, to calmer alpha waves and ultimately to deep relaxing delta waves. Simultaneously, the magnetic force surrounding the body increases in strength.

11 minutes: The pituitary gland, glandular system and the nerves start to learn and change. The sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems begin to accommodate the increased energy.

22 minutes: Anxiety producing thoughts in the subconscious begin to clear. Your three minds (negative, positive, and neutral) start to work together so your mental integration changes. 22 is the infinite number of longing and gives mastery of the mental realm.

31 minutes: Affects your whole mind and your aura. Endocrinological balance is achieved, as is balance of the chakra’s of the ethereal body. This balance persists throughout the day, and is reflected by changes in moods and behavior.

Amount of Days

11 days: 11 is the number of Infinity in the material world and conqueror of the physical realm. So it’s like the first step to break loose from the entanglement of the mind.

40 days: Helps to break negative habits that block you from the expansion possible through the Kriya or mantra, if done 40 days straight in a row

90 days: When you practice the Kriya or mantra for 90 days straight it will establish a new habit in your conscious and subconscious mind. It will change you in a very deep way.

120 days: When you commit to practice the Kriya or mantra for 120 days without skipping a day it will confirm the new habit of consciousness. The positive benefits of the Kriya get integrated permanently into your psyche.

1000 days: This will allow you to master the new habit of consciousness that the Kriya or mantra has promised. No matter what the challenge, you can call on this new habit to serve you.

Resource: Meditation as Medicine, by Dharma Singh Khalsa.

21 views0 comments


bottom of page